NZ Borneo Eagles players celebrate after winning the 2017 Borneo Sevens tournament in Sandakan, Sabah. Pix source: Facebook/Eagles Rugby Club

KUALA LUMPUR: NZ Borneo Eagles emerged as cup winners of the 2017 Borneo Sevens tournament in Sandakan, Sabah while Sri Lanka triumphed in the women’s category today.

The Kiwi team overcame challenge from Australia’s Tribe 7s 19-14 as Sri Lanka beat Thailand 12-05 to claim the cup.

Dewan Bandaraya Kuala Lumpur (DBKL) triumphed in the plate division 33-15 over Sri Lanka’s national rugby team and Korea pummeled Malaysia’s national women’s team 17-0 to take plate honours for women’s category.

Malaysia suffered another upset in the bowl category as the men’s national team suffered a narrow defeat at the hands of neighbouring country, Singapore but the luck wasn’t on their women’s side after the defeat to Eagles RFC Philippines (20-7).

Alabang Eagles triumphed over the Combines Old Boys Rugby Association (COBRA) 26-7 to take top honours in the shield division.

588 reads

Related Articles

Most Read Stories by