The Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (Jakim) said the “Eyeglass With Candy” sweets do not contain any haram ingredients.

KUALA LUMPUR: The Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (Jakim) has denied that the “Eyeglass With Candy” sweets have haram ingredients as spread on the social media.

According to Jakim’s Halal Hub Division, the sweets which are round in shape and in various colours, produced by Goodfood Industries Sdn Bhd had valid halal certification.

“The misunderstanding arose when the consumer did not look clearly at the label which has the words ‘free from pig’s products and its derivatives’,” it said in a statement today.

According to the statement, in the process of issuing the certificate, a team of Syariah experts and food experts looked at every ingredient and the production process.

JAKIM also advised the public to be smart consumers and not spread anything without checking.--BERNAMA

3,432 reads

Related Articles

Most Read Stories by